1916 Galway

I visited the Library in Galway looking for in formation about the city’s involvement in the 1916 rebellion. I was aware of some of the exciting events that happened there in 1916 and of Liam Mellows involvement. I enquired at the counter if there was section devoted to the Rebellion. The helpful assistant gave me excellent book on Cumann na mBan and a postcard relating to six lectures. I noted no urgency or interest in the 1916 activities. There was not a section devoted to the Rising such as I had found yesterday in the famous Charles Byrne’s bookshop which I visited the day before.2016-01-28 22.39.40 I inquired about Renmore barracks and asked for some info. I was directed to a section but failed to find the book  on Renmore. My overall impression was that the library was old fashioned , underfunded and in need of a revamp.

Leave a Reply

