1916 Galway

I visited Galway Museum today and was dissapointed. With the 1916 centenary upon us there was nothing of note to attract the visitor to the historic significance  of the momentus week. Upon inquery I was informed that the first floor was being prepared as we speak for an exhibition. I took the lift and saw workmen preparing stands etc. The space seemed very small. On my last visit to the museum some years ago I remembered seeing the Lucitania memorabilia  but that was gone. I was told it was through lack of funding. There was a very limited section dealing with WW1. I saw Liam Mellows cane (see photograph). Very dissapointed at Galway 1916 commemoration  to date.2016-01-27 17.32.07

Leave a Reply

